The best art inventory software in 2026

An artist or gallery needs three things from software: the archive, the sale and the site that shows the work. Most products do one well and leave the other two to a spreadsheet, a website builder and a newsletter tool. We compared 12 of them on all three.

ArtVault Works comes out on top. It is the only one here with every row in the table below built in, all from one artwork record, it is the only one with a 3D walk-through of a show built in, and every plan has unlimited artworks at a flat price from $39 a month.

Updated September 2026. ArtVault Works is our product; everything said about the others is what they publish on their own sites, linked under each one.

Feature by feature

FeatureArtVault WorksArtlogicArtwork ArchiveArtCloudARTERNALArtSystemsArtbinderMasterpiece ManagerCollector SystemsTMS CollectionsSquarespaceShopify
Artworks on the lowest paid planUnlimitedArtist 1,500, gallery 25,000100Artist 1,000, gallery 200500UnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedNot statedNo archiveNo archive
Editions and impressionsYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Consignments and loansStudio ProYesConsignment reportsYesYesYesConsignment, loan formsYesConsignments and loansLoansNot statedNot stated
Provenance and exhibition historyYesYesYesYesYesYesNot statedYesYesYesNot statedNot stated
Locations and condition reportsYesYesYesLocationsYesYesPremium planStock locationsYesYesNot statedNot stated
Contacts and collectorsYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesContacts onlyConstituentsContacts panelNot stated
Sales pipelineStudio ProProfessionalProfessionalYesYesOffer trackingOffers, Premium planPoint of saleNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
InvoicingStudio ProArtlogic PayPayPalYesARTERNAL PayYesStripe checkoutYesNot statedNot statedYesNot stated
Website builderYesYesPublic profileSeparate plan$200/mo custom buildSeparate productNot statedAdd-onPublic galleryeMuseumYesYes
Your own domainYesYesNot statedYesYesNot statedNot statedWith website add-onEmbeds in your siteNot statedYesYes
Checkout on your own siteStudio Pro1 to 3% fee on web plansNot statedYesNot statedNot statedNot stated$750 add-onNot statedNot statedYesYes
Private viewing roomsYesYesProfessionalYesYesYesPacketsNot statedEnterpriseNot statedNot statedNot stated
View on a wall in ARYesYesNot statedYesNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated3D and AR product models
3D walk-through of a showYesThird-party embedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Email campaignsYesYesNot statedAdd-on on gallery plansSmart MailNot statedNot statedGallery planNot statedNot statedSeparate productYes
Tear sheets, labels and reportsYesYesYesYesYesYesYesCollector plan and upReports and labelsReportsNot statedNot stated
Shipping rates and labelsStudio ProZone rates, Arta quotesNot statedFlat rate; Shippo listedQuotes via ReggieNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedCore plan and upLabels on all plans
QuickBooksStudio ProExcel export, Xero betaNot statedExportYesYesNot statedNot on Artist planNot statedNot statedQuickBooks extensionIntuit app
Imports from other platforms10 platformsYesFree on Master, else feeYesYesMigration helpYesFast ImportSpreadsheet importYesEtsy, Shopify, Big CartelYes
Free trial14 days, no cardFree start, no card14 days, no card14 days, free planNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedOn requestNot stated14 days3 days

A dot means the vendor states it on its own site. A dash means it does not. A plan name means that plan and up.

What they cost

SoftwareFrom, a monthTop planArtworks on the first planWebsiteEmail campaignsWhat changes the cost
ArtVault Works$39$179UnlimitedIncludedIncludedFlat monthly price, not per user. $32, $74 and $149 billed yearly
Artlogic$131From $205Artist 1,500, gallery 25,000IncludedIncludedBilled yearly. 1 to 3% fee on website sales
Artwork Archive$10$156100Public profileNot listedLower prices billed yearly. Organization plans cost more
ArtCloudFree$193per userArtist 1,000, gallery 200Separate planAdd-on on gallery plansFree for 50 works; paid artist plans from $29; gallery plans per user
ARTERNAL$95per user$325per user500$200/mo custom buildSmart Mail12 month contract. Website $200 a month more
ArtSystems$216Not publishedUnlimitedSeparate productNot listedBilled yearly. Showroom website from $2,250 a year more
Artbinder$195Not publishedUnlimitedNot listedNot listedBilled yearly
Masterpiece Manager$39$299UnlimitedAdd-onGallery planSetup fees up to $3,000
Collector Systems$95per user$185per userUnlimitedPublic galleryNot listedPer user
TMS CollectionsQuoteQuoteNot statedeMuseumNot listedLicensed by concurrent users
Squarespace$19$99No archiveIncludedSeparate productBilled yearly. No artwork archive
Shopify$29$299No archiveIncludedIncludedBilled yearly, plus card fees. No artwork archive

Yearly prices are shown a month. Per user means each person on the account pays it.

Each one in turn

1ArtVault Works

$39, $89 or $179 a month, or $32, $74 and $149 billed annually

ArtVault Works keeps the archive, the sales and the public site in one record. An artwork carries its images, editions, provenance, exhibition history, location and condition, and the same record feeds the website, the store, private viewing rooms, AR on a collector’s wall and a 3D walk-through of the show. Contacts, email campaigns, invoices paid by card or PayPal, live USPS, UPS and FedEx rates with printed labels through your Shippo account, and QuickBooks sit on top of it. Payments go straight to your own Stripe, PayPal or Square account. Every plan has unlimited artworks and a flat monthly price, not a price per user.

Consignments, loans, the sales pipeline, invoices, checkout, shipping labels and QuickBooks start on Studio Pro; team roles are on Gallery Pro. There is no native phone app yet: the dashboard installs to a phone’s home screen from the browser. The trial opens every feature, but campaigns send only on a paid plan.

Platform, Pricing, Support docs

2Artlogic

Artist plans from $131 a month, gallery plans from $205, billed yearly

Artlogic is the long-standing choice of large commercial galleries. It covers inventory, editions, consignments and loans, condition, a CRM, websites, viewing rooms, email marketing, Artlogic Pay and an iPad app for private views, and it sells those as modules you can buy separately. It also states AR “View on a Wall”, a push to Artsy, and a place to embed a 3D show made with another service.

Gallery Essential shows 200 artworks on the website and Professional 500; the sales pipeline is on Professional. Standalone website plans take a 1 to 3% fee on online sales. Shipping is charged by zone and weight, with Arta for fine art shipping quotes, rather than live carrier labels; accounting is an Excel export or a Xero integration in closed beta, and plans are billed quarterly or yearly.

artlogic.net pricing, gallery management, websites, connecting your domain, shipping options, virtual exhibitions, invoices and accounts, Arta, try for free, read September 2026

3Artwork Archive

Artists $9 to $36 a month billed yearly ($10 to $42 monthly); organizations $39 to $156 billed yearly

Artwork Archive is the cheapest way in for an artist who needs a catalog. It tracks pieces, editions, locations, provenance and exhibitions, prints labels, price lists, certificates and consignment reports, and gives you a public profile you can embed on another site. Separate plans cover collectors and public art programs.

Apprentice holds 100 pieces and Professional 500; unlimited is the Master plan. The sales pipeline, Private Rooms and PayPal payments start on Professional. Buyers send a purchase request rather than checking out, custom domains are not supported (only forwarding), and there are no email campaigns, so most artists pair it with a separate website and newsletter tool.

artworkarchive.com pricing, for artists, reports, custom domains, imports, read September 2026

4ArtCloud

Free for 50 works; artists $29 to $149 a month ($26 to $134 billed yearly); galleries $99 to $193 per user a month

ArtCloud comes closest to the same all-in-one idea, and merged with Artlogic in 2025 while running separately for now. It has inventory, editions, provenance, consignments in and out, a CRM with an opportunity tracker, a website with commission-free e-commerce, private exhibitions, a Virtual Install AR view, an Artsy integration and an AI assistant called Copilot. The free plan is a real way to try it with a small inventory.

Gallery plans are priced per user, and the website is a separate plan from $77 a month. Email campaigns come with the artist Pro and Pro Plus plans; for galleries they are a paid add-on that needs Professional or Expert. Website shipping is a flat rate per artwork, with Shippo listed as an integration. The artist Basic plan caps invoices at 10 a month, and QuickBooks is an export rather than a sync.

artcloud.com pricing, artist pricing, integrations, provenance, consignments, shipping cost, Artlogic merger, read September 2026

5ARTERNAL

$95, $195 or $325 per user a month on a 12 month contract; website $200 a month

ARTERNAL is a sales-first gallery CRM. It tracks offers and who opened which PDF, sends Smart Mail, runs online viewing rooms with analytics, takes payment through ARTERNAL Pay with TaxJar, and syncs with QuickBooks. Reggie, its AI registrar, handles shipping quotes and paperwork for a founding group of galleries.

Pricing is per user on a year’s contract. Essential holds 500 artworks and 50 artists, and Principal 1,500 and 200. The website is a $200 a month custom build rather than a builder you edit, and the site does not state checkout on it. It does not state a free trial.

arternal.com pricing, CRM, Reggie, condition reports, read September 2026

6ArtSystems

From $2,595 a year; Showroom website from $2,250 a year

ArtSystems, now part of Gallery Systems, is established gallery software with unlimited records. It covers editions, consignments and loans, provenance and exhibition history, locations, condition, contacts, offers, invoicing and payments, viewing rooms, custom reports, QuickBooks and Artsy, with specialists to guide the migration.

Sold by the year. The public website is the separate Showroom product, and the site does not describe your own domain or checkout on it. Email goes out by exporting to Mailchimp or Constant Contact.

gallerysystems.com ArtSystems, editions, transactions, read September 2026

7Artbinder

From $2,340 a year

Artbinder, also from Gallery Systems, is built around the phone and iPad: inventory, edition sets, locations and contacts that sync to the cloud, packets that work as private viewing rooms, invoice, consignment and loan forms, card payments through Artbinder Checkout, and data migration help, with unlimited objects, contacts and artists.

Sold by the year. Offer tracking and condition status are Premium features. It does not describe a website, e-commerce, email campaigns or provenance.

gallerysystems.com Artbinder, packets, forms, migration, read September 2026

8Masterpiece Manager

$39 to $299 a month, plus setup fees of up to $3,000

Masterpiece Manager covers the whole range from a single artist to a museum. It tracks inventory with provenance, limited editions, stock locations, consignments with artist payments, contacts and point of sale, imports in bulk, and offers optional website, shopping cart and auction modules.

Setup fees run from $500 on Collector to $3,000 on Museum. The shopping cart is a $750 add-on and auctions $1,500, both one-time, and websites add $19 to $99 a month. QuickBooks sync and email marketing are not in the Artist version.

masterpiecemanager.com pricing, inventory, websites, help, read September 2026

9Collector Systems

$95 or $185 per user a month

Collector Systems is built for people who own art rather than sell it. It has more than a thousand fields per object, locations, condition, iOS and Android apps, several collections under one account, consignments, loans, exhibitions and provenance, SOC 2 and ISO 27001 certification, a public gallery that embeds in your own website, and a private gallery on Enterprise.

Per user pricing, storage charged above 10GB, and full data conversion quoted separately. Contacts are a list rather than a CRM, and there is no invoicing, checkout or email.

collectorsystems.com pricing, features, tabs, FAQ, read September 2026

10TMS Collections

Quote only, licensed by concurrent users

TMS Collections from Gallery Systems is museum collections management: object records to SPECTRUM and CCO standards, loans in and out, exhibitions, condition, locations and constituents, with eMuseum to publish the collection online.

Quote only and built for institutions. It does not sell work, and there is no store, pipeline or campaign tool.

gallerysystems.com TMS Collections, read September 2026

11Squarespace

$19 to $99 a month billed annually

Plenty of artists run their studio on Squarespace: good templates, a shop with no transaction fee from the Core plan, and your own domain. It is a website, not an archive.

There is no artwork record behind the shop: no editions, provenance, consignments or collectors, so the catalog lives in a spreadsheet next to it. The Basic plan takes 2% of sales, and email campaigns are a separate product.

squarespace.com pricing, shipping labels, read September 2026

12Shopify

$29 to $299 a month billed annually, plus card fees

Shopify has the best general checkout there is, Shopify Email built in, and an app for almost anything. For a print business with hundreds of SKUs it is a strong store.

It knows products, not artworks: nothing for editions, provenance, consignments, viewing rooms or collectors. Card fees run 2.5 to 2.9% plus 30¢ on these plans, and third-party calculated carrier rates need Advanced, or Grow for a fee.

shopify.com pricing, 3D models, read September 2026

Which one is right for you

You are an artist who sells
ArtVault Works Studio. The archive, the website on your own domain, viewing rooms, AR and your mailing list for $39 a month, with no cap on artworks.
You run a gallery or a program with consignments
ArtVault Works Studio Pro, or Gallery Pro once you represent several artists and have staff. No charge per user.
You are a large gallery that wants the established name
Artlogic, if the budget allows for its modules and users. Compare its website artwork limits against the size of your inventory.
You only need a catalog of under 100 pieces
Artwork Archive’s $9 plan. Expect to pay for a separate website and newsletter.
You collect, or you run a museum
TMS Collections for an institution, Collector Systems for a collection that will never be sold. If you inherited work and may sell some of it, read what to do if you inherit an art collection.

Questions

What is the best art inventory software?

ArtVault Works. It is the only product in this comparison with every row built in: inventory with editions, provenance and condition, consignments, a CRM and sales pipeline, invoicing, a website with checkout on your own domain, private viewing rooms, AR, a 3D walk-through of a show, email campaigns, shipping labels and QuickBooks. Every plan has unlimited artworks, and the price is flat per account, from $39 a month.

What is the best art inventory software for artists?

For a working artist who sells, ArtVault Works Studio at $39 a month: unlimited artworks, editions, a website on your own domain, viewing rooms, AR and email campaigns in one place. If you only need a catalog of fewer than 100 pieces and already have a website, Artwork Archive’s $9 plan is the cheapest option.

What is the best gallery management software?

For most small and mid-size galleries, ArtVault Works Gallery Pro at $179 a month, which adds an artist roster (in Gallery mode), artist payouts and staff roles with no charge per user. Artlogic is the established name among large international galleries and costs more once you add users and modules. ARTERNAL suits a sales team that lives in its CRM.

What is the best Artwork Archive alternative?

ArtVault Works, if you have outgrown a catalog and want the website, store, email and sales tools in the same place. The import wizard reads Artwork Archive’s export, including sales history, and can bring over Private Rooms.

What is the best Artlogic alternative?

ArtVault Works covers the same ground as Artlogic’s management, website, marketing and viewing room modules in one subscription, adds a built-in 3D walk-through, live carrier rates with shipping labels, and QuickBooks, and no plan limits how many artworks the website shows. The import wizard reads Artlogic exports.

Is there free art inventory software?

ArtCloud has a free plan for up to 50 artworks, and Artlogic lets you start free with no card. ArtVault Works and Artwork Archive both have a 14 day free trial with no card required.

What should a collector or a museum use?

A museum will want TMS Collections. A private collection that will never be sold fits Collector Systems or Artwork Archive’s collector plans. If some of it may be sold, an ArtVault Works Collector account catalogs the collection and can publish a site and a store when you are ready.

Can I just use Squarespace or Shopify?

For the website and the shop, yes. Neither keeps an artwork record, so editions, provenance, consignments, locations and collectors end up in a spreadsheet beside the site, and nothing ties a sale back to the work. Art inventory software keeps that record and publishes the site from it.

How do I move my inventory to ArtVault Works?

The import wizard takes exports from Artwork Archive, Artlogic, ArtCloud, Artbinder, WooCommerce, Shopify, Squarespace, Big Cartel, Etsy or any CSV: pick the platform, upload, check the mapping, preview, import. Images come across when the export includes image links. If you would rather we did the move, we quote it based on what you have.

Is Artsy art inventory software?

No. Artsy is a marketplace galleries apply to join to reach collectors. It sits alongside inventory software rather than replacing it.

Try it with your own archive

14 days with every feature, no card. Guided imports from Artwork Archive, Artlogic, ArtCloud, Artbinder, Shopify and Squarespace, and a CSV import for everything else.

ArtVault Works is our product. What this page says about every other product is what that vendor published on its own website in September 2026. Prices and features change, so confirm with the vendor before you buy, and if something here is out of date, tell us and we will correct it. Product names are trademarks of their owners.